Home Hebrew Yiddish Games Contact Us


Welcome to the Hebrew section of Aleph Place, where you will be able to learn the Hebrew alphabet. Hebrew is written from right to left and does not have capital letters. The alphabet has 22 letters which are all consonants. Two of the consonants are also used as vowels. Unlike the Paleo-Hebrew writing script, the modern Ashuri script has five letters that have special final forms, called sofit, making a total of 27 letter symbols

The letters of the Hebrew alphabet are also used as numbers, and the numerical value of each letter is often used to interpret certain words in the Bible.

Throughout the ages the actual shapes of the letters have undergone many changes. Nowadays books and newspapers are printed in what is known as "square script." Besides the printed scripts there is also a cursive script for handwriting. In this one letters are joined together for speed.

Here, in Aleph Place, you will be able to learn the square script, the cursive script and the numerical value of the letters. We hope you will enjoy your introduction to Hebrew!

If you have comments or suggestions, please do not hesitate contact us.

Toda rava! (Thank you!)